Running Adventures of a Trail Brat

Fueled by Chickpeas

Leave a comment

Two peaks course.

Garmin course showing route to two of the three peaks from the Three Peaks Marathon.

You could say today’s run was fueled by chickpeas, those round light-colored legumes also known as garbanzo beans.

Pineapple Track

Climbing Pineapple Track in the rain.

The Garmin route to the left was an 18 mile run that took my husband and I from our house in Pine Hill through the Leith Valley to Ross Creek, the Pineapple Track, Swampy Summit Track and back through the Leith Valley and home.

This route represents the course for the Three Peaks Mountain Race, minus the route up to and down Mt Cargill Lookout. I’m still working on figuring out how to link to that peak.

The fuel I brought for this 4 hour jaunt through the rain, included Raw Date Newtons, a not-so-impressive version of my usual raw energy bars and chickpea tortillas with pumpkin humus. The Pancake Princess introduced me to the chickpea tortillas and I quickly became a fan. Due to my kitchen equipment (namely the old food processor) in New Zealand, my version of her recipe is posted below.  For me the result is more of a flat bread. However, this version travels well in a running pack. (I have also posted an approximation of my current recipe for Pumpkin Humus.)

Chickpea Tortillas (modified from this recipe found on The Pancake Princess)

2 Tbsp ground flaxseed

2 Tbsp warm water

1 c chickpea flour (see note before directions)

1 c water

pinch of salt

couple of shakes of cumin

Chickpea flour

My husband was working in the next room, so I didn’t run the food processor very long. Regardless, my current process leaves me with small bits on chickpeas in my flour.

(Note: I am currently using an food processor that I picked up at a second hand shop in New Zealand. Grinding chickpeas is a very noisy process. If I am the only one home or if I am looking to bug my girls with the noise, I can do a fairly decent job grinding. However, I am still left with several small bits of chickpeas in my flour.  These bits cook through, but do provide a little texture to my final product.)

Whisk together flax and 2 Tbsp of warm water in a large bowl. Let sit for 5 min to thicken slightly. When 5 min are up, add chickpea flour, water, salt and cumin into the bowl. Whisk all ingredients until there are no clumps. The mixture should be the consistency of pancake batter. Thick tortillas use approximately 1 cup of water. (Depending on how fine I am able to grind the chickpea flour, I have used 1 to 1 1/4 cups of water. You can add an additional 2 Tbsp of water for even thinner tortillas.)

Preheat a 9″ skillet lightly greased with coconut oil over medium heat. Pour a few spoonfuls of batter into the pan (depending on how big you want your tortillas). Swirl to coat the bottom of the pan or use a spoon to spread out the batter (again, depending on the size you want the tortilla and the thickness or thinness of your batter). Let cook for 2-3 minutes or until you see the edges start to dry out. Using a spatula, flip and cook the other side for 30-60 seconds. (If you have difficulty getting the spatula under the tortilla, cook the first side a little longer.)

When cooled, store flat and covered.

The bits of chickpeas to provide some texture to the final product.

The bits of chickpeas to provide some texture to the final product.

Pumpkin Humus

1 1/2 c chickpeas, soaked overnight or 1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

2 cloves garlic

1/4 c lemon

1/4 c water

3 Tbsp tahini

1/2 c unsweetened pumpkin puree (see note)

1 tsp cumin

3/4 tsp salt

1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

(Note: Pumpkin has become a stable for my family. We go through one to two crown pumpkins a month. I usually cook half of the pumpkin in the crock pot, puree it and use it for humus or other goodies. The other half is somehow incorporated into dinner. I usually end up adding closer to 1 c of the puree to the recipe and maybe 1/2 to 1 tsp of cayenne pepper while leaving the other ingredients the same.)

Place chickpeas, garlic, lemon juice, water, tahini in a food processor and combine until smooth. Add pumpkin, cumin, salt and cayenne pepper and continue to process until smooth.

Adjust to taste with additional lemon juice or cayenne pepper.

My husband and I go through a one quart jar of this humus every six weeks.

Chickpea Tortillas (bread) and Pumpkin Humus

Chickpea Tortillas (bread) and Pumpkin Humus

Leave a Reply

